Tuesday, August 18, 2009

The Royal Cubit in the 18th Dynasty

On 18th Dynasty Egyptian cubits the 20th finger is labeled a remen. The 16th finger is indicated as being a "t'eser" and the hieroglyphic symbol on the 15th and 16th fingers is similar to the remen but overlaps the border between them. The glyph appears to be that of a forearm with the hand grasping a rod which can be seen more clearly on the cubit at the Museo Egizio in Turin, Italy. There is a picture of this cubit stick in Mathematics and Measurement by O. A. W. Dilke on p. 23.
t'eser (foot) indicated as being 16 fingers in length
Mathematics in the Time of the Pharoahs by R. Gillings p.220

If one does an actual measurement one does get a value very close to a foot. If you want to check this measurement I would recommend an assistant since balancing the tape measure while taking a picture is rather difficult.

measuring the foot

1 comment:

Brad Watson, Miami said...

The ancients observed what we now call the '7 Classical Planets' or '7 Naked-Eye Planets': Moon, Mercury, Venus, Sun, Mars, Jupiter, and Saturn. Of these, 4 can't be easily seen during the day (Venus can be)/4 can't cast shadows on Earth (Venus can). There are 4 lunar phases of roughly 7 days (~7.4 days) each, thus, 7-day weeks and 4 weeks in a month ('moonth'). The menstrual cycle is on average 28 days.

Orion was 7 stars with 4 making up his shoulders and feet + Orion's Belt. The Big Dipper and Little Dipper are each 7 stars with 4 making up their quadrilateral bowls. The 7 Sisters/Pleiades is the 4th most recognizable asterism. Mars returns to the same point against the stars and in alignment to the Sun and Earth every 47 years. Venus has an orbit of 224.7 Earth days = 7.4 avg. Earth months (30.4 days each).

"As Above, So Below"

So to reflect this sacred combination of 7 & 4 observed in the heavens, the Sumerians and Egyptians (and Hebrews) took the common cubit of 6 palms x 4 fingers = 24 digits and added a palm to create the royal cubit of 7 palms x 4 fingers = 28 digits.

Sumerian/Babylonian ziggurats were 7 levels high (including ground and top) and were 4-sided (+ their base). All sacred buildings in Sumer and Egypt were designed and constructed using royal cubits. The 1st pyramid in Egypt - Pharaoh Djoser's Step Pyramid at Saqqara - is 7 levels, 4-sided and used royal cubits.

The Great Pyramid used royal cubits and was 280 royal cubits high including its capstone/'ben-ben'.

GOD=7_4, whereas G is the 7th letter, a circle is either 15 or zero or ---, and D4. Freemasons encoded GOD=7_4, 7/4=July 4th. See GOD=7_4 Theory at http://GOD704.wikia.com .